Awards for Canine Excellence

The Awards for Canine Excellence – or ACE – are currently accepting nominations. The ACE awards are handed out by the AKC Humane Fund, and accepts nominations in five categories spanning over everything from family dogs to uniformed K-9.

Every entrant receives an AKC Humane Fund certificate of recognition. Some dogs will get an honorable mention, and this is awarded an engraved bronze medallion. The winner of each category receives a trip to the AKC/Eukanuba national championship in Orlando Florida, all expenses paid, $1,000 to a pet-charity of their choice, and a medal presented at an award ceremony.

To nominate a dog, follow this link and fill out the form.

The categories are:

Uniformed Service K-9
Dogs certified for law enforcement, military, and helping fire fighters.

Search and Rescue
Dogs certified to assist in tracking, locating missing people, natural disasters, etc.

Therapy Dogs
Dogs certified to provide comfort and affection to those in need.

Service Dogs
Dogs certified to help those with disabilities.

Exemplary companions
Dogs that are non-certified household pets.


See More Like This


Glass House or French Door with a Dog Door? How Does That Work?


The PlexiDor Sliding Glass Dog Door and Your Active Dog